Stay Awhile with Your Own Ones: A Father’s Day Essay

This essay moved me to tears, and I discovered that the author is here in central Vermont.

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

A guest blog essay for Father’s Day from Alexis Paige:

LexDad1978 Alexis and her Dad, 1978

When I was a child, I remember my father growing irritated, impatient even, when people made a fuss over his single dad status. When my parents split in 1983, Mom moved to Texas, and my little brother and I to New Hampshire. Our family story happened this way for many reasons, some of them practical, some of them tragic, but Dad always felt that he got special notice when single moms never did.

“Aw, your daughter’s running a fever, and you are going to pick her up from school?” a lady from the office might coo, sighing longingly as Dad grabbed the keys to his Datsun 210 and hustled his tall, gangly body beyond the cubicles and out the door. As if his leaving work, scooping me up from the school nurse’s office, and dropping the…

View original post 1,022 more words

Leave a Reply

